top of page
Search

Adventure II



Come with me on an adventure. Yes, you.


Hurry up, there’s not much time. There never is at the start, it’s always rush to this and hurry to pack that and don’t forget those and look we’re already out the door.


See? Look how easy it is. One foot in front of the other and we’ll get there in time. Yes, you can hold my hand if you’re scared.


Unexpected you say? Is there any better kind of adventure? There’s nothing more exciting than setting off into the wild unknown to face down fearsome creatures and devious foes while matching wits with charming compatriots we pick up along the way.


Yes, there’ll be snacks, I made sure to pack extra for you.


I wonder if they’ll write stories about us. I wonder where they’ll start if they do. Will they begin with my childhood? My falls from climbing too high up into trees and singing too loudly at the birds in my father’s garden? Will they start with your favorite book and how you stumbled onto the moon in your search for the stars? Main characters rarely know they’re in a story until it ends, happily or otherwise, but storytellers have to begin somewhere. I wonder how our story will end?


I’ll tell you a secret: I’m scared too, can I hold your hand?


I’m glad you’re with me, adventuring is lonely without someone by your side. No, of course you’re not the sidekick. I wouldn’t look good in bright blue spandex anyway. You’re my partner, a voice of reason and a creative thought on the wind. You’re the high to my low and the night to my day. I need you with me as much as you need me with you.


We’ll never get through this adventure otherwise.




 


A short little companion piece to last week's post.



:) Kathryn



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page